March 20, 2018

REVIEW: The Widow of Papina

The Widow of Papina
Author: Katie Hamstead
Pub date: December 13, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance Mystery


Forrest and Braydon Miller moved to the small town of Papina to follow their dreams and start a family. Braydon loves her new life in the quiet town, kept alive by the prestigious boarding school overlooking the valley. She is so proud of her husband's work, helping the teens on the reservation.

Until one day, Forrest doesn't come home.

Scandal spreads when it’s discovered that one of the teenagers is missing, too. But, Braydon refuses to believe her husband would leave her. When the teen is found, she isn't talking--literally.

While Braydon's heart is breaking, she must hold her crumbling life together, raise her son, trust in the Sheriff's loyal, and ever-growing devotion, and find a way to love the MUTE teenager enough to discover the truth of what happened to her husband.

My review ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Going into this book, I didn’t know what to expect.  This is a new to me author and based on the synopsis, I was intrigued. I was not disappointed.
This is an emotionally gripping story that will pull on your heartstrings. It is poignant, believable and heartfelt. I loved all of the characters in this book.  I wanted to be a part of their town.  I wanted to be their friend.  I was immersed in this little town as well as the drama, love and arguments that unfolded.  There were twists and turns I did not see coming and the love that develops between Braydon and Paul was wonderfully written.  It is not rushed or forced.  Although there are not many heated scenes, the ones that are written are hot and heavy.
There is some drama in this book, but I do not believe it is over-the-top or that it in any detracts from the book as a whole.

Braydon is a strong character with a lot on her plate.  A missing husband, a newborn, and a mute teenager.  She manages to juggle all of this and much more.  I absolutely envied Brayden for her strength to deal with it all
Paul is a Sheriff and he is absolutely sweet.  I loved his character.  He is a man, in my opinion, that everyone dreams about having.  He is mannerly, helpful, strong and willing to fight for what he wants.

“I’m going to fight for you, because no matter how much you think we can’t be together, I know one day we will.”
I don’t want to divulge too much as the book is enjoyed not knowing the twists and turns but suffice it to say that I liked this book.  It is heartbreaking and warm.  I would love to revisit this town and its characters in a new book if the author chose to do so.  I would recommend this to anyone who likes a mystery as well as a well-written romance.

I received an ARC of this book.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

March 15, 2018

GIVEAWAY: How busy is your TBR?


As avid romance readers, it is a guarantee that we all have TBR list.  There are so many books and so little time to read.  The question is this:  Is you list manageable?

As book lovers, we tend to put any and all books that are of interest on this list.  The problem with this is there is always a newer book coming out that grabs and snatches our attention.  Some are read immediately, while others we put on our ever-growing list. This causes most of us to have more books on our list than we could possibly read in a year.

I will be gifting one ebook up to $4.99, to two (2) separate winners.  The ebook must be on their TBR list.  To enter follow me on either of these platforms.  For US residents only


For an extra entry, please RT or Share

And let me know in the comments below.  How in control or out-of-control is your list?  Do you manage it, if so, how?  Which book from your TBR would you like to win? 

Will be open until Tuesday, March 20, 2018 at 17:00 EST.  Winners will be chosen shortly after.  No other platform responsible, only me.

Review: Thirsty

Thirsty by Mia Hopkins
Review: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ (3.50)  Thirsty

A gangster hiding from his past. A single mom fighting for her future. Can she show this bad boy the man he’s meant to be?

“Mia Hopkins is an imaginative author who doesn’t take the easy road to a formulaic book.”—USA Today’s Happy Ever After blog

My name is Salvador Rosas. Back in the barrio, my past is written on the walls: ESHB. Short for East Side Hollenbeck, my father’s gang—my gang. Hell, it’s a family tradition, one that sent both my brothers away. They used to call me “Ghost” because I haunted people’s dreams. Now I’ve got nothing going for me except a hipster gringo mentoring me in a new career. An ex-con making craft beer? No mames.

Still, people in this neighborhood look out for one another. That’s how I became Vanessa Velasco’s unwelcome tenant. Chiquita pero picosa. She’s little, but with curves so sweet they’re dangerous. I remember Vanessa from the old days, the straight-A student with big plans. Plans that were derailed by another kid stupid enough to think he was bulletproof. Now Vanessa knows better than to believe in empty promises. There’s fire in her . . . and if I touch her, I might get burned.

I’m trying everything I can to go straight. But when East Side Hollenbeck comes calling, I might have to risk it all to find out if there’s a future for Vanessa and me. Because she’s the only one who can quench my thirst for something real.

The Rosas brothers will return in Trashed!

Salvador Rosas is a man balancing his life on a tightrope... His newfound honest life versus his ties to the East Side Hollenbeck Gang. He knows the gang will come for him, it's only a matter of time. One wrong step however and he will plummet, causing himself to be deprived of everything he ever wanted and desired.

Vanessa Velasco is a single mom trying to improve her life for her daughter. She has no time for dealing with a gangster who just got out of prison but Sal is saying and doing all the right things..

When the attraction between the two can no longer be denied, Vanessa agrees to a two month affair after which, all ties will be severed.

With the ESHB gang lurking and such a finite amount of time with Vanessa, how will his thirst for more ever be quenched?

This book was good but it could have been great if, in my opinion, Sal's gang life and affiliations would have been explored more. We do get a glimpse into the life towards the end but I believe it would have been a more powerful and vivid read if the interactions were throughout the book instead of at the end.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It was well written and flowed well. The intimate scenes between Sal and Vanessa were hot and heavy. I loved how Salvadore could be badass but also sweet and tender when needed. I think I have a crush. I definitely can't wait to read more from this author and from what I see, there is another book!

Thank you to NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept for this ARC. All thoughts and opinions are my own

REVIEW: No Earls Allowed


It is a truth universally acknowledged that a lady can do anything a man can do: backwards and in high-heeled dancing slippers.

Lady Juliana, daughter of the Earl of St. Maur, needs all the help she can get. She's running a ramshackle orphanage, London's worst slumlord has illicit designs on her, and her father has suddenly become determined to marry her off.

Enter Major Neil Wraxall, bastard son of the Marquess of Kensington, sent to assist Lady Juliana in any way he can. Lucky for her, he's handy with repairs, knows how to keep her and the orphans safe, and is a natural leader of men.

Unfortunately for both of them, the scandal that ensues from their mutual attraction is going to lead them a merry dance...

Neil Wraxall is plagued with nightmares as result of his time on the battlefield.  Under his command, several of his friends and his brother lost their lives-all of which he feels tremendous culpability for.  To dull the pain, he always keeps a glass of gin on the bedside and when the terrors of the past become to much, he indulges.
In the warzone, he felt rage and now that the rage is gone, there is a heavy weight on his shoulders.  One his unable to divest himself of. He relives his past constantly and barely sleeps and is almost always alone.  When he wishes company, he goes to the Draven Club.  And although he gets company there, he cannot completely escape his demons as there is a in memoriam to the fallen soldiers that he commanded that hangs directly in view of all who enter.

Neil is used to taking orders and following them.  So, when he receives a summons from his father, he answers.  On this occasion, he is told by his father to retrieve Lady Juliana from the orphanage in Spitalfields and take her home to her father.  His father tells him that it is a trifling request and should not take much time to complete.  When Neill arrives, however, he realizes it is anything but.  Juliana is headstrong an willful and she outright refuses to return home.  However, he is a soldier and he always completes his missions no matter how difficult they may seem.  He knows Lady Juliana will not leave due to the issues surrounding The SunnyBrook home for Boys.  There is no cook, the orphanage is in disrepair, the roof leaks and she has a violent crimelord demanding payment – or else.  He decides to stay despite the impropriety of it all and solve her problems so that she will be more amenable to returning home.
Lady Juliana, daughter of Earl St Maur, lost her sister in childbirth and lost her nephew to his cold-hearted, selfish father.  You can also say that she lost her father for all that his is alive.  Since the death of her mother, her father has been emotionally absent and she spends most of her time at the Sunnybrook Home for Boys. 

One night she is called away from a ball by Robbie, one of the orphans she has charge of and races back to the orphanage to find out that her cook is packing her bags.  She knew this was an eventuality due to the disrepair and the missing staples in the larder disappearing.  Never mind the friendly rats that run amok.
Now, Julia has much responsibility and no where to turn for help.  She uses her pin money to buy food and to do whatever repairs the orphanage requires but it is sadly not enough.  Her father does not like her staying in such a run-down part of the city and wants her to come home.  Julia, who loves her charges, refuses.  She will not loose another child she loves.

Juliana now has greater worries.  Mr Slag, a crimelord, who runs the rookery where the orphanage resides is violent and cruel.  He has set his sights on Juliana and demands payment of a thousand pounds for her protection or she must warm his bed.  She tries to avoid him but due to the time she now spends at the orphanage, its almost unavoidable. .  Juliana refuses to accept but she must make a choice, Mr Slag will not wait forever.
I absolutely loved Neil’s character.  He is known as a hero but refuses to acknowledge it because he believes that he is to blame for the deaths of the men who died under his command.  He is also a tortured as a result of finding his brother’s dead body on the battlefield.  It is an image he cannot forget. Neil is lonely and is verging towards alcoholism to solve his problems.  He is also kind and a caring as well as a virgin!.  I love when he makes the rats a cage for the boys even though he absolutely detests them. 
At the orphanage, he starts off not caring for any of the boys nor Juliana besides getting her home.  Towards the end, he is actively showing them how to cook basic meals and make their beds and a few other things a long the way.
Julia’s character however, I did not like as much.  She seemed to be completely absorbed with the orphanage and had no real care for Neil besides the attraction she feels. But attraction does not equal love. She has a lot of distrust of men, understandably, but I believe it was overblown and that she projected too much on Neil.  He does good deed after good deed and still she mistrusts him.  I have a hard time with that.  I really wanted to love Julia’s character but something about her character rubbed me wrong.  I did love how she cared for the orphans under her care but besides that, I don’t have much to say.

The flow of this book, for me, was really slow in the beginning.  I found myself putting down my kindle many a time to do other things.  However, because I loved Neil's character, the children at the orphanage and Mrs Dunwitty, Juliana’s governess as a child, I forged on. 

Around the three-quarter mark, the writing I was expecting from this author came through, the pace picked up and my enjoyment of the book and Juliana skyrocketed. From there on, I did not put the book down.
Thank you to NetGalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for the ARC.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.

March 13, 2018

Release Blitz: Possessive

Author: Willow Winters
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: March 13, 2018


From USA Today bestselling author Willow Winters, comes a provocative, standalone, contemporary romance.

Some men are born with a black heart and a tainted soul.

I never liked to admit it back then; I thought I could outrun who I am and lie to myself.

But I accept the truth now.

It’s in my blood and in my bones. In every impure thought and desire. 
I tried to leave. To do the right thing and walk away from my past.
But then she came back into my life.

Stumbling towards me and looking up at me as if I’m the one she’s been looking for all this time.
As if I could be her savior and take her pain away.
If only she knew.

She turns me into what I hate most about myself.
Selfish, ruthless, possessive.
I tried to be a good man. To be cold and distant and warn her away.

She should have taken the hint and run.
She didn’t…
And now she’s mine.

PURCHASE LINKS  US | UK | CA | AU | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

My Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Have you ever been in love so much it hurt? What if that person, that soulmate, that ONE for you was not yours to love? If an opportunity presented itself but was surrounded by insurmountable sadness and loss, would you still do anything and everything to make them yours? When does it all become too much?

This is the heartbreakingly beautiful love story between Addison Fawn and Daniel Cross.

Wow. I can't believe it's over. What a ride! I loved every single second of this book. It is told in dual POV and it is perfectly paced and written. From the very beginning, this book
had me wired and on the edge of my seat. Some scenes left me absolutely breathless. Willow Winters' writing is exquisite and it makes you FEEL the electricity and the pull between these characters. The spark, sensuality and absolute WANT between Addison and Daniel is undeniable and you experience every second of it. This is without a doubt an utterly consuming, gripping, page turning read that just keeps anteing up.

From what I believe, this is the first in a series and I can PROMISE you that I will be the first in line not only to read the next instalment but her other books as well!

I receive this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Author Bio

Willow Winters is so happy to be a USA Today, Wall Street Journal and #1 Contemporary Bestselling Romance Author. She likes her action hot and her bad boys hotter. She certainly doesn’t hold back on either one in her writing!

Willow started writing after having her little girl, Evie, December 2015. All during her pregnancy with Evie she continued to read and she only wanted to read romance. She was reading a book a day — sometimes two.

In January 2016 Willow was staying up late with Evie and just thinking of all these stories. They came to her constantly so she finally sat down and just started writing. She always wanted to do it so she figured, why not? Today Willow cannot be happier for making that decision!

There is a giveaway for a $25 Amazon gift card.

March 12, 2018

COVER REVEAL: The Boy & His Ribbon

The Boy & His Ribbon
by Pepper Winters
The Ribbon Duet Book 1
Publication Date: April 3rd, 2018
Genre: Coming of Age Romance

“What do you do when you meet your soul mate? No wait…that’s too easy. What do you do when you meet your soul mate and have to spend a lifetime loving him in secret?
I’ll tell you what you do.
You lie.”


Ren was eight when he learned that love doesn’t exist—that the one person who was supposed to adore him only cared how much he was worth.
His mother sold him and for two years, he lived in terror.
But then…he ran.
He thought he’d run on his own. Turned out, he took something of theirs by accident and it became the one thing he never wanted and the only thing he ever needed.


I was young when I fell in love with him, when he switched from my world to my everything.
My parents bought him for cheap labour, just like they had with many other kids, and he had the scars to prove it.
At the start, he hated me, and I could understand why.
For years he was my worst enemy, fiercest protector, and dearest friend.
But by the end…he loved me.
The only problem was, he loved me in an entirely different way to the way I loved him.
And slowly, my secret drove us apart.

Pre-Order Today!

About the Author

Pepper Winters is a multiple New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today International Bestseller.

After chasing her dreams to become a full-time writer, Pepper has earned recognition with awards for best Dark Romance, best BDSM Series, and best Hero. She’s an multiple #1 iBooks bestseller, along with #1 in Erotic Romance, Romantic Suspense, Contemporary, and Erotica Thriller. With 19 books currently published, she has hit the bestseller charts twenty-six times in three years.

Pepper is a Hybrid Author of both Traditional and Self-published work. Her Pure Corruption Series was released by Grand Central, Hachette.

Her books have garnered foreign interest and are currently being translated into numerous languages, including already released titles in Italian and Turkish. Audio Books for her entire back-list will be available in 2017.

Connect with Pepper
Never miss an update! Sign up HERE for Pepper’s newsletter today!

March 11, 2018

REVIEW: Renner's Rules

Renner's RulesRenner's Rules
by K. Webster

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I’m a bad girl.
I was sent away.
New house. New rules. New school.
Change was supposed to be…good.

Until I met him.

No one warned me Principal Renner would be so hot.
I’d expected some old, graying man in a brown suit.

Not this.

Not well over six feet of lean muscle and piercing green eyes.

Not a rugged-faced, ax-wielding lumberjack of a man.

He’s grouchy and rude and likes to boss me around.
I find myself getting in trouble just so he’ll punish me.
Especially with his favorite metal ruler.

Being bad never felt so good

 Treat (noun)

an event or item that is out of the ordinary and gives great pleasure:

synonyms: celebration · entertainment · amusement · surprise · party · excursion · outing · special event · present · gift · delicacy · luxury · indulgence · extravagance · guilty pleasure · goodie · pleasure · delight · boon · thrill · joy

Along with the title of this book, you get the slogan “A Taboo Treat”.  And boy oh boy I cannot describe this book any better than this definition.  I dare anyone to try.  

Renner is a commanding, 35-year old principal.  Elma is a naughty eighteen-year old high schooler.  Put them together and you get a deliciously sexy taboo treat. 
Renner’s Rules is a novella, a standalone and is told in dual POV.  It is a titillating, fast paced, page turning read.  The intimate scenes between Renner and Elma are red-hot.  K Webster pens a story that sates one’s cravings for the taboo and the carnal.

I received an ARC of this book.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.